TV Review: Arrow (S05 E23) – finale

He came alone, but left with many. His name is, Prometheus.

Rarely do we get a show that lost its way gain back its bearing. But that’s what Arrow did with itself this season, all thanks to a worthy villain, the kind we love to hate. I must confess, a part of me hope Prometheus would be given his own spinoff; the character was just too good. He had a good run and a more befitting send off, one that ensures he won’t be sticking around come next season, but here’s to hoping Arrow doesn’t lose its way again.

Adrian Chase (Prometheus)
.

This episode saw the permanent loss of two players in the Arrowverse – Malcolm Merlyn, who’s been with us from the start and Captain Boomerang, who’s almost never been around. The man behind the Dark Archer (John Barrowman) intends to go unto other projects, that I get; his sendoff was great as there’s no greater love than a father willing to die for his daughter even when she resents him.

Slade Wilson and Oliver Queen

.

If there’s one thing Prometheus/ Adrian Chase had always made clear all season, it’s that he’s always one step ahead of Oliver. He made it clearer in the finale ashe gave Oliver not much of a choice – kill me and save your son to lose your friends, or save your friends by leaving me to kill your son. See, not much of an option. Oliver does find a loop hole to recover his son (William) from the clutches of mad man Chase, and this forces the hand of arguably the greatest villain in the Arrow verse. Adrian Chase committed suicide. I almost didn’t see that coming. Yes, Adrian behaved suicidal for the greater part of the season, but I believed it was to send Oliver a message and not simply because he didn’t have any other thing to live for. But as it turned out Oliver resolve to not kill waned stronger, Adrian blow his own head. Through whatever form of science his death caused the spontaneous detonation of C4s placed all round the island. It wasn’t clear if Oliver’s friends got on the boat as Oliver directed, but I get we’ll have to wait till next season to see who died and who didn’t.

Those on the island were: Thea, William’s mother Samantha, Felicity, Rene, Curtis, John, Dinah, Laurel 2, Evelyn, Captain Lance, Slade Wilson, Nyssa, Talia, and a host of others without a name. All our fan favorites are there, so unless the producers have in mind to reboot the show like Once Upon a Time intends to do, I almost certainly believe that Team Arrow will be intact.

It was a wonderful ride. Arrow s5 was one of the shows I looked forward to weekly. Thank you Greg Berlanti for upping your game. A big thank you to the writers, producers and directors for a wonderful job.

I give this season a 10/10

One thought on “TV Review: Arrow (S05 E23) – finale”

  1. The show lost me during Season 4 so I’m VERY excited that it has found its way back, because that means I think I’m ready to jump back on the hype train. I feel like the writers really listened to the fandom and wanted to make ’em happy, which is what more writers should do when a show is going downhill. Couldn’t read all of your posts (because: spoilers) but I liked what I did read. Nice one!

    Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts and opinions on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

