The Craze For Sentient Lifelike Robots

Marvel’s LMD (Life Model Decoy) story-line is coming at the helm of the craze for sentient robots caused by Westworld. And it is good.

Over the years, HBO has given us a lot of memorable TV shows that will be remembered for many years to come – Sex and the City, The Sopranos, Game of Thrones, etc. Most recent of this HBO-craze induced TV, is Westworld, a remake of the 1973 movie of the same name. If you liked Westworld as much as I did, then, you’ve fallen in love with lifelike androids. While we wait till 2018 before we can enjoy more awesomeness that is the world Jonathan Nolan and Lisa Joy have brought us, we can enjoy something similar on the fourth season of ABC’s Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

westworld-2

I believe it’s coincidence, but I can’t help but wonder if Marvel had the foresight to see how successful Westworld would become with the idea of lifelike robots turning sentient.

Let me say here, asides from both TV shows sharing the idea of sentient robots, there’s nothing else common. WW is anchored on a premium cable network were nudity, matured and dark story-lines can take precedence. While AoS is on a broadcast channel, and also based off a comic-book series.

I for one cannot get enough of this lifelike android craving, Westworld has started in me, so for that reason, I’ve been having the time of my life following this season of AoS. I initially wondered how they were going to top the awesomeness that Ghostrider brought to the first half of the season. Now, I can categorically state that, they’ve been doing a more awesome job.

ghostrider

To defeat Robbie’s uncle (Robbie is the Ghostrider), Fitz and Dr. Radcliffe had to bring the LMD they’ve been hiding all the while (Aida) to read the Darkholme. This is to execute the reason for her construction: to protect humans from any form of harm, and lay her robotic-life if need be. It was initially revealed that reading the Darkholme changed something in Aida, but it was later clarified to mean that having her read the Darkholme was always Dr. Radcliffe’s idea. Presently, Agent May had been kidnapped and replaced with an LMD, with LMD-May unconsciously tasked with stealing the Darkholme for her masters (Radcliffe and Aida). Radcliffe, along the line, revealed that there is another LMD is already at work. I have my budding theory on whom this second LMD is, but I’ll keep it to myself for now.

aos-aida

The idea behind robots that look like humans has always been an appealing one, and within a space of six months, I’m witnessing it being played out twice in two awesome TV shows.

What do you think about lifelike androids? Did you enjoy watching Westworld, and do you like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.? Let us know. If you want more series with lifelike androids, I recommend BBC’s Humans currently in its second season.

Leave a Reply

